Paper Towns by John Green

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m not exactly sure how I feel about this book. I personally really disliked Margo, and since pretty much everything about this book is centered around her, most of it was just frustrating. But there were parts where we saw Quentin hang with his friends or be all insightful and deep which I thoroughly enjoyed. I have to say that the road trip part of the story was BY FAR my favourite part of the entire book. It was so fun and light and fantastically written. The gas station stops were HILARIOUS. I just kind of sat there reading it and burst out laughing – you know, those crazy moments when people just look at you like you’re an alien, or something?

I actually really enjoyed reading it – yes, even the following the clues to Margo thing. But I would’ve enjoyed it even more if Margo Roth Spiegelman had been a good person. That’s not too much to ask for, is it? I’m not saying she’s a bad person because she runs away all the time or gets into trouble 24/7 (although that behaviour certainly isn’t angelic) – I think Margo is a whiny brat who thinks everyone’s world is centered around her and her “awesomeness”, and when she realises that she can play Quentin because he absolutely idolises her, she does so because she’s Margo Roth Spiegelman and she can do anything she fricking pleases.

It BOTHERS ME.

Overall, I would give this book a 3 stars out of 5. It was alright. Not too bad. There were some pretty great parts, but it also dragged on a bit. The fact that Quentin is a stupid lovestruck teenager was also there… Yeah.

Thanks for reading!

Karina

Leave a Reply

