A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

I cannot describe to you how much I freaking love this book. It was beautifully written. The way Prythian, specifically the Spring Court, was described made me yearn for it to be real and the magic between Feyre and Tamlin just made my heart MELT. I don’t know what to say about this book except that I could start singing its praises and never ever stop.

The characters were so intense and raw. Reading this story through the eyes of Feyre, our bold, snarky huntress, was breathtaking. Watching her discover the wonders and horrors of Pythian and slowly grow to love Tamlin was so incredibly captivating. There are so many romance novels out there that just get it so wrong. They handle that transition – from stranger to soul mate – so fast, too hasty and messy and it rarely ever feels right, and if it does, it takes a whole series to develop. But Sarah J. Mass, Feyre and Tamlin achieved that and MORE in only 416 pages. Four hundred and sixteen pages of pure, gripping entertainment. I read and read and read and felt like the story would never end and I loved every bit of it. You’d think that the book would stop once she reaches Under the Mountain and gets handed her trials, perhaps on a cliffhanger – but no! We get a whole extra book worth of storytelling in just over a hundred pages. And even then, you realise this beautiful lengthy love story that you thought was basically the whole book was told in only two hundred pages. I turned the pages of this book so rapidly it shocked me, and every time I opened it, I was sucked into a new world almost immediately. Not once was I thinking about what was happening as an outsider, as simply a reader. The way the story was told, I felt part of it, somehow. There were parts in this book where the raw emotion just flooded the page and I literally jolted, astounded by the beautiful, BEAUTIFUL writing.

As I said, I could go on about this book forever, but rather than reading a lengthy review on how FREAKING FANTASTIC this book was, I would rather you read it yourself.

I think it goes without saying that the five star scale is not big enough for this book.

Thanks for reading,

xx Karina

Leave a Reply

