Top Ten Tuesday – Fairytales and Fairytale Retellings

The Top Ten Tuesday challenge is a weekly thing hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is Top Ten Fairytales and Fairytale Retellings I Want to Read. I’m going to break the tag up between the two categories, half and half.

5 Fairytales  I Want to Read

– The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen

– The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen

I think it would be interesting to read this and compare and contrast between the book and the movie Frozen. I’d like to see how the characters were described by Hans Christian Andersen and if the movie portrayed the story well.

– Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

As a young girl I was given one of those ginormous pop up books of Alice in Wonderland and I absolutely loved it! But, I’m pretty sure what attracted me back then were the fancy pop up trees and people and houses, not the story itself. I’ve never read the original version of Alice in Wonderland – I mean, I’ve even been in my school’s musical production of Alice in Wonderland, but nope – haven’t read the book yet

– Grimm’s Fairytales by Brothers Grimm

Because – of course.

– The Tale of Tsar Sultan by Aleksandr Pushkin

This Russian fairytale details the story of a woman who is chosen to become a tsarina. She has two other sisters, who are forced to work in the kitchen and act as servants. Her sisters start to greatly envy her and when she gives birth to her son, and next heir, they decide to put them both in a barrel and ship them down a river – basically sending them to die. However, the river is kind to them and they end up washing up on the shores of an unknown island. Her son is now fully grown after the long journey and the rest of the book describes how he gets revenge on his aunts and how he finally gets his happily ever after.

I really like the sound of this fairytale. It’s quite intriguing and – fun fact – I have learned Russian as a language in school. I always loved learning Russian but after we moved, none of my new schools offered that as one of their languages. I know that I would definitely have to read it in English, but going back to all of that with a Russian fairytale would be such a treat.

5 Fairytale Retellings That I Want to Read:

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

Fairytale: Beauty and the Beast

I’ve already got this on my bookshelf at home, and I’m just itching to start it! Plus, if it’s Sarah J. Mass, it’s gotta be good.

– Dorothy Must Die by Dannielle Paige

Fairytale: The Wizard of Oz

I have this one on my shelf too, and it looks super intriguing! I don’t know too much about it other than the obvious, but I kind of just want to dive into it not knowing what they’ve twisted.

– Entwined by Heather Dixon

Fairytale: The Twelve Dancing Princesses

I was OBSESSED with the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses as a small girl, and when my friend recommended this book to me I didn’t really think about it too much. However, I now know that it’s based off one of my childhood favourites, and I’m definitely going to give it a go! I should’ve listened to her sooner.

– The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

Fairytale: Hansel and Gretel

I have heard SO MUCH about this, and of course it’s written by Chris Colfer, who we all know and love.

Corroded Thorns by Emma Clifton

Fairytale: Seems like it’s the fairy godmother from Cinderella!

This looks IMMENSELY INTRIGUING! I really want to get my hands on this one. The picture is linked to the goodreads page for this book, so go have a look!

Thank you for reading my Top Ten Tuesday and comment below if you think I’ve made good choices, or if you think I left something out! Just give me your thoughts! Thoughts are awesome!

xx Karina

Leave a Reply

