Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Upon reading the last chapters of this book, I finally learned my lesson.

Anyone can betray anyone.

There is a lot to say about this book.

A LOT.

I absolutely loved Red Queen! Yes, I admit, it was pretty slow to start. It took me a long while just to get through the first five chapters because there was nothing in the book that had me latched on to it so early. There’s nothing wrong with that, because as I found out, there is SO MUCH INTENSE PLOT, but because of that, I honestly thought I wasn’t going to like it. And then, I got to the part where she falls in that pit. Yeah, I know, the way I’ve stated it makes me seem extremely mundane and unintelligent, but I’m trying not to spoil anything! Anyway, up till that point, I was bored. After that point, everything, and I mean EVERYTHING changed. A whole scandal popped out of nowhere, two hot princes joined the cast list, along with a whole lot of antagonists, a bunch of background info about the society’s hierarchy was divulged, which I personally loved, but most of all, we started to get an inside look at Silvers and how their abilities work.  I found the whole concept about red blood versus silver blood and regular human beings versus superhuman beings with legitimate super powers extremely intriguing. The power in a single fingertip of a Silver surpassed that of probably a thousand Reds.

One thing I immensely enjoyed was seeing how the wife-choosing process went for the two princes. HILARIOUS. You put these Silver fangirls in a dome and wait till they unleash their powers and show you what they got. They’ve been preparing to be a wife their ENTIRE lives. It’s like The Bachelor meets Miss Universe Pageant with a dash of DEADLY involved. And you see our narrator reflecting on the families and the contestants and they’re all like crazy fangirls who would KILL for this win. I LOVED IT!

But of course, the main thing I have to rave about here is the plot. Victoria Aveyard deserves a million standing ovations for her ingeniously crafted masterpiece. You NEVER know what to think. You NEVER know what to expect. You’re ALWAYS anticipating the worst, and surprised by an EVEN worse turn of events. You think you have it figured out? You got your ships settled? You will NEVER have it figured out. You will be constantly debating between the two guys. You think you’ve solidified your decision? Oh, here comes the cutest scene ever with the other guy! Fan-freaking-tastic.

I. CAN. NOT. DESCRIBE. TO. YOU. HOW. AMAZING. THIS. BOOK. IS. YOU WILL HAVE YOUR MIND BLOWN WITH THE ENDING, GUYS. MIND BLOWN. AND NOT IN A GOOD WAY. BUT, I MEAN, OF COURSE IN A GOOD WAY. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH

THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW, NOW GO READ THE BOOK ITSELF. YOUR “READ” LIST WILL BE OF INFINITELY LESS QUALITY WITHOUT RED QUEEN ON IT.
xx Karina

2 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I loved this book as well! I’m already looking forward to Glass Sword and even the novella Queen Song (just for something to tie me over!) I totally agree with you about not being able to choose and going backwards and forwards about who you like better! I love well done love triangles and I love that it is sorted out by the end of the book so it won’t be dragged into the next one. The ending threw me through a loop as well! Blew my mind!! I’m glad you loved this book! Great review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

