The Heir

The Heir by Kiera Cass is the fourth book in the Selection trilogy – and yes, I say trilogy because the series was originally only intended to consist of three books. But, SURPRISE! Kiera Cass decided to double that number by planning to add three more books that revolve around the life of Eadyln Shreave, the heir to the throne – obviously, Maxon and America’s daughter.

There are about a million reasons why I didn’t pick up this book straight away, the main one being:

America Singer was a straight up horrible narrator. She was indecisive and juvenile and really annoying. I didn’t want to read a whole other series about her offspring if they inherited those stupid, immature genes. 

But thank goodness, Eadyln Shreave isn’t like that at all. Nope, she knows exactly what she wants(at least at the beginning she does) and on top of this, we add to the mix the lovely characteristics of selfishness, self-centeredness(if that’s even a word) and just straight up mean. This girl is HORRIBLE.

If I had a dollar or a pound or a euro for every time I read, “I am the most powerful person ever” on a page of this book, I’d actually, seriously be rich. 

Overall, I actually kind of enjoyed the book because there were characters who weren’t afraid to put her in her place and seeing the selection process with 35 guys instead of 35 girls was amusing – oh, who am I kidding, it was HILARIOUS! 

I’m honestly a little disappointed in this book as well, though. I hate the narrator for even worse reasons than I hated America, and there were so many stupid things going on that I almost yelled at my Nook on occasion. It was a good, light read and I’ll definitely finish the serious because I want to know what happens, not because I genuinely care about Eadyln. Funny, this was exactly my reasoning for finishing the original trilogy. 

I formally rate it at a 2 or 3 out of 5 and would recommend it for times of grieving other book characters or if you’re just in need of a little fluff.

Thanks for reading this short review, there’s not much to rant about without spoiling 🙂

xx Karina 

Leave a Reply

