An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

This book.

Oh my goodness, this book.

I am in love with this book for so many reasons. The writing is fantastic, the concepts are intriguing, the characters are loveable and understandable. This book was just brilliant!

The first thing I remember thinking when I started reading the book was, “Finally, some realistic characters.” As soon as the raid at Laia’s house took place and Darin was captured, she ran. She knew she would’ve been no help, so she ran, just like anyone would. In most cliche books, you see your protagonist trying to fight and getting beaten and dragged away somewhere or you see them magically succeed, but not for Laia. Laia FLED from her home as fast as lightning because who actually wouldn’t?

My verdict for this book is a definite 5/5. I had been in a reading slump for a while, and this book was exactly what I needed. It was refreshing and so intense! It had just the right amount of humour and romance. The character development throughout the book was so well played out. You see this cowardly little sister blossom into the most badass, relatable heroine and you don’t even notice. It all just happens so naturally.

And Elias was a great character to read about, too. I just LOVED being able to see Blackcliff through his eyes and through Laia’s eyes. As a reader, you get the full picture, even though the characters don’t and the switching between chapters and knowing things about certain characters that the other character doesn’t know and then you’re yelling at the book and aggggggghhh it’s just amazing.

THIS REVIEW DOES NOT DO THIS BOOK JUSTICE! I CAN’T ARTICULATE MY THOUGHTS I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M DOING YOU GUYS JUST GO READ IT.

~ Karina

Leave a Reply

