Umm… Haul?

Hey guys,

To make up for the horrendous amount of non-existent posts that I have neglected since the beginning of this year, I decided to write a sort of haul post showing all of the books I bought or received during that dark time period 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Do you guys like my awesome photo editing skills? There’s no way the lighting in my room flatters those books on its own 🙂

So, I’ve broken down all of those books into two separate lists:

the “I Actually Read Them” list

the “Don’t Worry I’ll Get to Them” list

Without further ado,

I ACTUALLY READ THEM

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Cinder and Scarlet and Cress(which is currently being lent to my friend and why it’s not pictured)

I absolutely ADORED this series and I can’t wait to start reading Fairest, which you will see in the next list, and get my hands on Winter! November couldn’t come sooner!!

The basic premise of the Lunar Chronicles is that basically it seems like World War 3 has taken place and now there’s just a set few “countries” – more like continents – that make up the world. Cinder lives in the Eastern Commonwealth, Lunar-world Asia, where cyborgs, humans, and androids roam the streets. Marissa Meyer sets up this really awesome cyber based social system where humans are at the top, androids are basically their servants, and cyborgs(humans with metal body parts) are the lowly scum. A deadly plague sweeps the nation and oh yeah, there are scary, mind-manipulating people living on the moon who have… interesting… demands for the Eastern Commonwealth. The story revolves around Cinder, a (secretly) cyborg mechanic, Kai, the prince of the Eastern Commonwealth, a missing Princess of Luna(moon planet’s name) and the scary moon people.

It’s awesome so go read it. If that fabulous synopsis didn’t convince you then perhaps I’ll review the series as a whole once Winter comes out.

Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters 

The two books that complete the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. They were also pretty great, DBS was a bit slow moving for my taste, by DGM was SO MUCH BETTER! I just love all of the characters so freaking much. Karou is so badass! Akiva – *knees weaken* enough said. Zuzana and Mik are just adorable and funny and the books would not be the same without them. Here’s how DBS starts out:

~ Prague, early May. The sky weighed gray over fairy-tale rooftops, and all the world was watchingSatellites had even been tasked to surveil the Charles Bridge, in case the… visitors… returned. Strange things had happened in this city before, but not this strange. At least, not since video existed to prove it. Or to milk it.

“Please tell me you have to pee.”

“What? No. No, I do not. Don’t even ask.”

“Oh, come on. I’d do it myself if I could, but I can’t. I’m a girl.”

“I know. Life is so unfair. I’m still not going to pee on Karou’s ex-boyfriend for you.”

“What? I wasn’t even going to ask you to.” In her most reasonable tone, Zuzana explained, “I just want you to pee in a balloon so I can drop it on him.”

“Oh.” Mik pretended to consider this for approximately one and a half seconds. “No.” ~

I don’t even think I have to ask you to read it…

I’ll Give You the Sun

THIS BOOK WAS TORTURE IN THE BEST FREAKING WAY POSSIBLE

Isla and the Happily Ever After

A fluffy read that I actually read right after I’ll Give You the Sun because I needed something sweet and “Awww” worthy. It follows Isla and Josh who have this really romantic love story and it’s hilarious and amazing and I definitely recommend it for times of book character mourning.

The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty

Honestly, I need to write an actual legitimate review for this one because there’s just so much to SAY!

The Blood of Olympus

I had to read this ASAP because PJO and HOO is life. I was SO ANGRY THAT PERCY AND ANNABETH DIDN’T EVEN HAVE FRICKIN POVs, AND JASON – STUPID JASON – DID! WHAT HAS THIS WORLD COME TO? HONESTLY, RICK RIORDAN! #RUDE

I like being grammatically correct, even in all caps 🙂

An Ember in the Ashes

I just finished An Ember in the Ashes this weekend and it was honestly so refreshing to read. I don’t know what it was about this book, but I just really needed it. I had heard so many fantabulous things about this book so when I saw the breathtaking hardcover in my local bookstore I just HAD to get it! I was definitely satisfied with the book, I mean that’s a complete understatement. I wish it wasn’t so NEW! That means the sequel is coming out in 2016, can I really wait that long?

Out of the Easy

After reading Ruta Sepetys’ debut novel Between Shades of Grey, I FELL IN LOVE with her writing. BSG was beautifully written and amazingly depressing but, I mean, I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO SAY. You know those lovely gourmet chocolates that you always wish you were fancy enough to buy, but you just go for the M&Ms instead? Yeah, Between Shades of Grey was Godiva. Anyway, this is about Ruta Sepetys’ other novel, Out of the Easy, which is as equally well written. Set in the 1950s, it centres around a girl named Josie Moraine whose mother works in a brothel. Josie is the complete opposite of her mother. She’s intelligent, loves books, and independent. She dreams of leaving New Orleans and going to a prestigious college, however she somehow finds herself mixed up in a murder investigation. Now, Josie has to navigate through the troublesome web of lies she’s managed to build for herself(quite miraculously, considering she hasn’t actually done anything worth lying so much for) and is her world is turned upside down when she starts to lose the only people she can trust. I definitely recommend you read both of Ruta Sepetys’ books, you will not be disappointed! I think I may review them, or do an author review month or something like that and feature her in it?

DON’T WORRY I’LL READ THEM

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Okay, I’m actually just going to list these and leave it at that because if you want me to spend time pasting goodreads summaries into the gaps when you could just find them yourselves – tough luck. ❤

The Understudy

An Abundance of Katherines

A Darkness Strange and Lovely

Clockwork Prince

Sense and Sensibility

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Open

The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Infinite Sea

Fairest

Shiver

Angel

I’ll read them eventually… Summer vacation’s almost here anyway so I have all the time in the world.

Thanks for reading this you guys! Again, super sorry for that huuuuge hiatus. I won’t let that happen again. And I have no excuse now that freedom’s right around the corner!

xx Karina

Leave a Reply

