Abandoning a Book? (Part 3)

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 10.10.05 pmHere we have the third and final post about abandoning books for right now! This is the deep one…

Is it okay to abandon a book halfway through?

Is it really okay to leave it hanging? Does it get on your conscience afterwards? Sitting on your bookshelf, staring up at you, making you feel guilty? Can you handle it?

Now, this is a very controversial topic in the booklover world, but my personal opinion is…

YES

Of course you can abandon a book. This isn’t like abandoning a dog at the side of a road, where it has no hope, it’s not going to be picked up by anyone.

This book will be picked up by tons of other people, and who knows, you might come back to it later. There’s no point in finishing a book you know you’re going to hate on after you finish.

And I find that it really doesn’t get on your conscience too much. Such a book that is terrible enough to make you put it down is too terrible to make you feel guilty. Now, if you put it down for other reasons, such as another book that you just HAVE to read, now that’s a different story. That would make me feel slightly guilty, but I’d probably forget about it with the book at hand.

Now that’s really important. After you put this book away, you must have another book in mind to read that you’re really excited about. It will take your mind off of the one you abandoned and will keep you from changing your mind. But make sure it’s not a book you’re rereading, because that may be just as boring considering you already know the story, and would only prolong your reading slump!

There’s really not much to say about this. I personally think it’s very okay to set a book aside for certain reasons. Here are some that I have abandoned:

I gave up when they turned into birds and flew away…

This was SO boring, I just couldn’t deal with it… It was enough to read through Game of Thrones, but with this one I just gave up. I even bought myself a beautiful, very expensive, paper copy, and it hasn’t even been approached…

After two books, it started to focus more on the thing at the basement, whereas I was really intrigued by the FAYZ itself, and the society that the kids had managed to build. It just didn’t interest me anymore.

I’m sure there are a couple more. but I can’t remember them right now…

Anyway, let me know which books YOU have abandoned, and warn me not to read them!

Thanks,

Karina

Leave a Reply

