Anna and the French Kiss

Write for ten minutes, no more no less? I can do that!

So, let’s see how in depth this particular book review will actually go…

I thoroughly enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I’ve had it on my bookshelf for a month now, just sitting there with it’s beautiful pink cover looking at me and asking me to read it but I was afraid. I was afraid that I would be disappointed. My expectations were EXTREMELY high for this book, and for good reason! There are so many people who say that this book is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC and TO DIE FOR and THE BEST YA ROMANCE NOVEL – I was afraid it wouldn’t be any of those things.

And it wasn’t.

It was a fantastic read, and maybe to faint for. A good, romantic, fluffy beach read. However, I truly didn’t think it lived up to the hype. Just like The Fault in Our Stars – BEFORE YOU YELL I did absolutely love The Fault in Our Stars, I just didn’t think it was anything truly special. It didn’t actually make me cry, and I thought it was – wait, I’m reviewing Anna and the French Kiss…

Back on topic, I did enjoy reading about Anna’s encounters in France and the book did actually make me laugh out loud, which is quite rare for me. When I read a book, I’m in my own bubble. I can’t hear anything other than my own voice in my mind reading the book and I don’t show my emotions about the book openly. But for this one, I just couldn’t hold it in! The emails between Bridge and Anna were especially hilarious. I learned a new word, too – callipygian. It means “having shapely buttocks”

How could I not laugh out loud at that one? Come on, it’s absolutely hilarious!

AHHH ONLY TWO MINUTES LEFT

I loved Anna and Etienne’s relationship. I loved that Anna calling Etienne by his first name was a bigger step towards their friendship than sleeping in the same bed for four days.

AHHRRGGGHHH TIME IS UP

SORRY

GOTTA STOP

Well, I guess I will re review this in the future, or just edit this post, because it’s not a very sufficient review…

And I will most likely do a TFIOS book review to explain to you guys exactly how I feel about the novel, and gently explain to you why you should not bite my head off…

Well, thanks for reading!

Karina

Leave a Reply

