Bookstores on My Bucket List

As a professional bookworm, bookstores are my heaven and my Saturday hangout places. I go there with a mission and sometimes, for no apparent reason. The local bookstore will always be my second home, but as such an acid reader, I’ve always wanted to visit a few magnificent bookstores. After researching about tons of fabled bookstores, after a lot of wishing and hoping, a lot of “somedays” and sighs – I’ve come to a conclusion about which specific bookstores I want to visit before I kick the bucket, and I thought I’d share them with you. 

**Just a disclaimer that I take credit for none of these pictures – although I wish I could**

1) Libreria Acqua Alta, Venice, Italy.

libreria acqua alta

Well, doesn’t that look appetising?

It’s so quaint, it has a certain charm about it. I think I’m in love… 

Apparently, this lovely little bookstore in Venice floods every year, and so the owner keeps his books in bathtubs! How creative is that? The bookstore is owned by Luigi Frizzo(cue the Mario Kart sound effect – Luigi!!), and is located in Sestiere Castello, the largest of the six “sestieri” districts in Venice. 

 

2) Boekhandel Selexyz Dominicanen in Maastricht, Holland.

Umm… YES PLEASE!!!!!!!

AAAHHH THIS PLACE IS SO BEAUTIFUL OH MY GOODNESS I JUST WANT TO GO THERE RIGHT NOW, CAN SOMEBODY TEACH ME HOW TO APPARATE? I mean, I’m not of age yet, but PLEASE just find a way!!

The picture is hauntingly beautiful. Absolutely stunning. Any author should be honoured to have their novel rest in such a place.

Exquisite.

3) El Ateneo, Buenes Aires, Argentina. 

HOLY GOODNESS.

4) Livraria Lello & Irmão, Porto, Portugal

 

 

SOMEBODY HELP ME.

It’s so beautiful, I’d visit even if it wasn’t a bookstore. 

Apparently, this bookstore was a very important inspiration to J.K.Rowling. She actually lived in Porto, and it’s said that the Harry Potter stairs were structured with that image in mind. 

That just makes it even better. 

5) Livraria da Vila, Sao Paulo, Brazil

 

 

This one is a bit different from the others, seeing as it’s modern. It’s unique, though, and it certainly seems to house a lot of books so why not? Plus, it’s in Brazil 🙂

Well, hope you ogled and drooled over these beautiful creations like I did, and tell me which one of these is your favourite!

Who needs husbands, I’ll marry a bookstore instead! ❤

Thanks,

Karina

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

