Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The name of this blog is Fangirl Fever, so I thought it would only be appropriate to review Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

There wasn’t an official book trailer for the novel, so you’re going to have to deal with my summary. 🙂

Before we start getting into the nitty gritty details, though, I just have to comment on the cover! The cover of Fangirl is absolute perfection. The colour scheme is to die for and the sketchy drawings of Cath and Levi are so crafty and creative. I love being able to visualise my character but not have an actual, real life person, because I am able to still imagine Cath the way I want to, and not base her off of some movie star or teen model. I also personally love the combination of mint green and peach, so the cover of this book was a feast for my eyes. I’m so glad I have it in hardback, it’s beautiful ❤

Fangirl is about a nerdy fangirl – of course – who’s about to enter her first year at college. She’s a true bookworm, keeping up a fan fiction for the “Simon Snow” series, Rainbow Rowell’s version of the Harry Potter series. She has Simon Snow posters plastered on the walls of her room, and a couple of Simon Snow tees that she’ not ashamed to wear, even at the age of eighteen. Her twin sister, Wren, is just like her, or so Cath thought. Up till college, they did everything together. They roomed together, wrote together, ate together, but when Wren tells Cath that she doesn’t want to room with her in college, Cath has lost her only anchor, and she doesn’t know how she’ll survive college without it. Faced with family issues back home, a hectic love life, her fan fiction deadline, and the everyday struggles of college life, our fangirl has a tough term ahead of her.

Fangirl is not the best book I’ve ever read, nor is it a book that made me jump up and scream or obsess about the characters. It’s simply a brilliant lighthearted book that made me laugh, cry and bite my nails in anxiety. Rowell forced me to fall in love with Cath’s quirky nature and her kick ass roommate, Reagan. They were both such an odd pairing, but all of their conversations were hilarious to read! I love the way that the novel starts. The very first sentence itself got me hooked, I mean what’s not to love about “There was a boy in her room.” Hilarious! I especially love how Levi is intent on calling her Cather, and not her preferred nickname, Cath. It’s an unusual name but it’s so unique. The story behind it, which I also love, is that their mother was not expecting twins, and was planning to name her daughter Catherine, but when she was surprised with two cute little babies, they just split the names up – Cather and Wren.

The book’s plot, well, I didn’t really know what the conflict would be at first. It just seemed like a normal realistic fiction book about a girl trying to cope in college. But once the Levi thing – not spoiling anything! – came up and the Nick thing and all of the family issues with her father and Wren, I could tell that this book was going to be a lot more than ordinary.

I think Cath’s relationship with Levi and how it developed was really realistic. And that’s not what you generally get in fiction novels. I mean, it’s not like every book has a hero that literally sweeps a girl off her feet, just, the relationship is always so perfect in most books and it goes from awkward glances to professing their love within a chapter. I felt like the relationship between Cath and Levi was more relatable and with every little new thing they made theirs, I smiled and my heart swelled. Like how Levi would always walk Cath back and forth to the library and Cath would read to Levi and then eventually, she would curl up in his lap and read to him. These small details just made their romance so much more exciting to read, and I applaud Rainbow Rowell for keeping it real, as she did with Eleanor & Park(Now that’s a whole ‘nother story 🙂 <3).

I also loved how Rowell added Nick into the supposed love triangle, but along was never planning to have him as an actual “contender” per say. He was never too intimate, and always quite nice but the big scandal surprise towards the end really had me despising his guts. I think this was called for, it helped make Cath’s and Levi’s love more solid. I would go more in detail, but no spoilers! 🙂

Overall, I absolutely loved Fangirl because the book was quirky, realistic and Cath was probably the most relatable character I’ve ever read about – what, with all of the Simon Snow/HP fingerling going on! I definitely recommend this to everyone out there, and here’s a little tip – just buy the beautiful hardcover, even if you have an e-reader because – trust me- you’re gonna want it resting on your bookcase. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

The Bookie Monster – that’s probably a temporary name, I can’t really decide without my fellow fangirl by my side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

